Laurie McDaniel

Official Author site for Laurie McDaniel

Lcpl Franklin Namon Watson USMC No Time To Heal For The Watson’s

No time to heal, that’s my theme for today, for days past and days to come. The Watson family doesn’t have time to heal. Every time the Watson’s turn around we’re kicked in the gut. Our family member died serving our country, our town, our state and our people. It’s our people that continue to punch us in the stomach.


Troy Watson lost his 21 year old son on Sept 24th of 2011 while serving in the United States Marine Corp. Troy did not lose his roommate; he did not lose his friend; Troy lost his son. Not a son he abandoned as a little boy, not a son that he gave up for adoption, not a son where there are more than one step-father. Frankie Watson has 1 father and 1 step-father. Frankie’s daddy is Troy Watson and Frankie’s step-father is Jack Couch. They lost a family member they can’t get back. The people in our community, our state, our congress, have gave the Watson’s a bad name.

Troy Watson is mentally- challenged. Troy has always been mentally challenged. When Troy was in school he was picked on and bullied because he couldn’t or wouldn’t defend himself, to people he went to school with, they thought it was a big joke to pick on someone less fortunate that was handicapped. You know, it’s sad we teach our kids not to bully others but the parents are the one who bullies. Those kids that Troy went to school with or knows Troy, continues to bully troy, they think it’s funny. Why do they do it you ask? Because they’re getting away with it. Troy hasn’t done anything so they think they can continue to hurt Troy. Troy has suffered a loss that one can only imagine he lost his only son. His son was at his prime, just turned 21, was starting his life and people in this town, in our state, in our congress, are trying to take what Troy has left in this world and that’s knowing, He only, was Frankie’s daddy.
First thing printed inside one of the daily reads, was how a state Trooper’s son was killed. That company knew without a shadow of a doubt that Troy was his dad. Troy used to deliver those daily reads for the company. Instead, of going back and recollecting them, they were left, and were given the wrong impression. When arrangements were made for Frankie’s funeral, the Watson’s were limited to what they wanted done for their family member. They had believed that it was because Frankie didn’t want to burden us while we mourned. That Frankie was taking care of his family even in death later we realized that wasn’t it. We couldn’t make changes to the obituary, not to take away but to add. We didn’t get to play music, we thought we were, we didn’t have the access to that type of thing; we let it be known to the people that were handling our loved ones funeral and nothing was done; it didn’t happen we were listened to; ignored. Before the funeral started we were all asked to come outside into the hallway to line up to come in for the funeral together as a family. Then after we got out of our seats were told that there was only enough room for 36 people. Well just from our side of the family was about that or more already not including his mother’s side of the family. I had asked why? That there were more of his family than that and we were told no one would move from the middle seating area, that they had said they were family.
That seating area should’ve been reserved for his family. The family that would lose their footing if they were standing but, no one cared about that. They told us that they were not going to ask them to move, that we could find other seats up in the balcony. The balcony? I was about to go off the audacity of that funeral director. I told them that was fine; we could stand on the back wall and in the isles. We were told by the curator at Bierley -Hale that the fire codes wouldn’t allow us as Frankie’s family to do that. How awful to tell someone we reserved seats for these people here but too bad you got to go up stairs. My older sister advised us she was going upstairs to find a seat, my father agreed and said this was not the time or the place that Frankie wouldn’t like it. That we had Frankie in a place where no one could take him from us and that was our hearts and those people that were claiming to be Frankie’s family only had a brief time with him and we had him right here as he put his hand over his heart. I thought I was going to cry right here and now. I wanted to cause a big seen in front of God, the news and everybody but he was my rock my father was and God knew that’s what I needed.
When we got upstairs of course it was full. So we stood in the hall which would be a fire code regulation to but, now that we were out of site shunned off from our loved one it didn’t matter, so here we were looking thru a glass window watching our family members’ funeral. That memory will be forever in my mind. One of Frankie’s little league football coaches’ was also there with his son. Frankie loved him and was friends with Hunter. I’m short and couldn’t see over everybody and they offered me a chair. Click Boone said that if he could coach Frankie from the top of the van during a Lenoir City football game then I could watch Frankie’s final time on this earth. I cried and cried. At that moment that was about the nicest thing anyone could say or do for me.
I noticed another person up there to he didn’t say much but you could see the sadness in his face in his eyes. He knows the hurt we were feeling. During the funeral Troy sat on the first row with Lowell on one side and Corey on the other. Not Troy’s dad, my father or family that to was a lonely site to behold a dark lonely place without your people to comfort you. The preacher at the time made a comment that one couldn’t take back. I thought Troy was going to fall out in the floor and people just sat there soaking up what this man was saying. I thought my father was going to go down there and put him off the podium. Frankie’s funeral was aired across the country via the internet. We know this preacher, he talked about this funeral during his morning service before it even started, I was even announced as Frankie’s Aunt, Troy’s sister at a place the day before and he stood in there and said Frankie was abandoned as a little boy (BULL CRAP)! I had custody of Frankie as a little boy. But that he was abandoned and how Lowell had taken him in and raised him and in the same breath asked his congregation to remember the Ukraine children that were abandoned to put their change in to give to them
. Well Troy is sitting in there listening to this man not completely talking about Frankie but Frankie’s friends. That this man who claims to know God say these horrible lies to his sheep and not one of Troy family members were able to give troy comfort when he started crying because we were up in the balcony. What could he do stand up in church during his grieving and smack the taste out of the preachers’ mouth for saying that slanderous remark or smacking him for trying to capitalize from all across the country to help the Ukraine children. I’m sorry but, that day was about Frankie period. Not about whom did, we did, she did, and Oh yea we need money for the abandoned children. It was about Frankie and Frankie’s family being treated with decency and respect. But the thing is Frankie’s family wasn’t being included in anything. We were told we were and then after it was all said and done we weren’t.
What kind of community do we have really? When do we think its okay to hurt people that are grieving for a lost loved one? It’s not ever acceptable and I’m ashamed! I know that people will have to answer to God whenever we wake from our deep sleep in the ground or when Jesus returns for his people. You don’t make fun of and you don’t take advantage of people. It’s called zero tolerance in school and you’re suspended for bulling. My question is how you suspend a preacher for teaching false information. Or news papers and daily reads for printing false information. What about people on a higher level, senators, congressmen, governors, even singers? How does one suspend them for false information that’s said on national television or wrote in black and white?
My daughter and my niece were at a gathering and they asked for people to come up and be recognized as Frankie’s family and their names weren’t even called. Not even one Watson name was called. How do you think those girls felt? Those girls were hurt and crying. My brother and I, was having to text them and tell them it was okay. To breath that they could be better than them. Then afterward one of them went to the people conducting the program and told them what they did was wrong and they would have to answer for that. None of Frankie’s family was there on that platform, friends and roommates but no family. They didn’t even have the decency to notify his dad to ask if he wanted to be a part of it. The scar that was left in those girls’ minds will probably be in there forever and nothing I say or do will change that effect either. Again Troy is being walked over being completely ignored but, do they care no they sure don’t they just want to get all the attention on Troy’s deceased son no one else’s and again it’s sad that people in our community have done this.
A resolution was passed in Frankie’s honor and the Senator didn’t notify Troy that they were doing it to come and be a part of that. I was told by someone not even in a 24 hour time period about it, ( I have my phone records of who I called and who called me I did my homework), So how does one take off work? Employers like having a 24 hour opening. The Watson’s wasn’t given that. They weren’t given the respect, which I know the Watson’s have shown to this community over the years. Not even by the officials we elect into office. I wrote several letters after this and they must’ve been too ashamed to reply. I mean how do you get to that level of power and not know who your constituents are? Our family is scarred, we are traumatized by the whole thing, and the sad thing is people don’t care. They say stuff, they do stuff and then for their five minutes of fame they go on TV and speak lies.
Then here we go suffering more; grieving more. Slanderous comments, false impersonation, and any other comments or remarks doesn’t help anyone, it’s hot in hell. Frankie Watson passed away in September of 2011. The Watson’s haven’t grieved properly from day one. We can’t, we haven’t had time, and someone always says something else to hurt us it’s like Frankie is dying all over again. Some of us has lost a lot of sleep, has went into a depression like state. Their zoned out, not eating, eating too much, something. When does it stop? That’s my question to anyone reading this. When does the healing come for the Watson family?

2 comments on “Lcpl Franklin Namon Watson USMC No Time To Heal For The Watson’s

  1. lmcdaniel
    October 8, 2012

    This is not something I would normally write.. I usually write poetry but none the less I write about my feelings or someone else’s feelings.. This is a repost because I’m still new to this so I thought it would be ok to post again using it in the daily challenge…Once my life gets more established I hope to be on here so much I become like your average wall paper.. This is a true story of events that took place just a year ago in my families life. I post it in hopes that one day when your family member is taken from you that you do not allow this tragic moment go as far as my family did. we were grieving and it’s a little hard to understand but we just shut ourselves out. we felt hopeless like it wouldn’t matter if we told anyone because we did and it continued to happen. I hope my story isnt to long forgive my typos and Thanks for reading…… L.McDaniel

  2. lmcdaniel
    October 8, 2012

    Reblogged this on Laurie McDaniel and commented:

    This is not something I would normally write.. I usually write poetry but none the less I write about my feelings or someone else’s feelings.. This is a repost because I’m still new to this so I thought it would be ok to post again using it in the daily challenge…Once my life gets more established I hope to be on here so much I become like your average wall paper.. This is a true story of events that took place just a year ago in my families life. I post it in hopes that one day when your family member is taken from you that you do not allow this tragic moment go as far as my family did. we were grieving and it’s a little hard to understand but we just shut ourselves out. we felt hopeless like it wouldn’t matter if we told anyone because we did and it continued to happen. I hope my story isnt to long forgive my typos and Tha

Leave a Reply

